Everything Top

Your perfect online guide to what's on top

Monday, November 09, 2009

Top 10 Universities and Colleges in Metro Manila

1. University of the Philippines Diliman - is the flagship campus, seat of administration, and the largest constituent university of the University of the Philippines System.[1] It is located in Diliman, Quezon City in Metro Manila.

2. University of the Philippines Manila - founded in 1908, is birthplace of UP. It is the oldest of the seven constituent universities of the University of the Philippines (UP). It is located in Manila, the capital of the Philippines. Its oldest degree-granting unit is the College of Medicine, which was founded in 1905 as the Philippine Medical School, predating the founding of UP by three years.

3. Ateneo de Manila University - is a private university run by the Society of Jesus in the Philippines. It began in 1859 when the City of Manila handed control of the Escuela Municipal de Manila in Intramuros, Manila, to the Jesuits. It was then a state-subsidized school. It became a private school during the American occupation of the Philippines, and has moved from Manila to its current location. It received its university charter in 1959.

4. University of Santo Tomas - is a private Roman Catholic university run by the Order of Preachers in Manila. Founded on April 28, 1611 by archbishop Miguel de Benavides, it has the oldest extant university charter in the Philippines and in Asia, and is one of the world's largest Catholic universities in terms of enrollment found in one campus

5. Far Eastern University - is a nonsectarian, private university in the Philippines. Created by the merger of Far Eastern College and the Institute of Accounts, Business and Finance, FEU became a university in 1934 under the guidance of first president Nicanor Reyes, Sr. It soon became the leading proprietary, for-profit university in the Philippines.

6. De La Salle University - is a Catholic private university located in Taft Avenue in the district of Malate in Manila, run by the Brothers of the Christian Schools. It is the oldest campus of De La Salle Philippines, a system composed of 17 Lasallian institutions in the Philippines established in 2006 to replace the De La Salle University System.

7. San Beda College - is a Private Benedictine college run by the Benedictine monks in the Philippines. It is located at Mendiola Street in San Miguel, Manila. It was founded in 1901 primarily to "defend the Catholic battlements in the field of education.

8. University of the East - is a private nonsectarian university located in University Belt Area, district of Sampaloc, Manila, Philippines. The university was founded in 1946 as a coeducational institution. Once labeled as the Largest University in Asia in terms of population, UE became the first university in Asia to have an enrollment of over 60,000 students.

9. Adamson University - is a private Catholic university in Manila, Philippines. It was founded on June 30, 1932 by the Greek immigrant George Lucas Adamson, who was shortly joined by his cousins Alexander Adamson and George Athos Adamson, as the Adamson School of Industrial Chemistry

10. Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila - is a municipal government-funded, tuition-free, university within the district of Intramuros in Manila, the Philippines. It was established on June 19, 1965 and opened on July 17, 1967 to 556 scholars, all coming from the top ten percent of graduates of Manila's public high schools.



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home